Nigerian States Postal Codes

Complete List Of Abuja City Postal Codes

Complete List Of Abuja City Postal Codes

abuja postal codes


This post provides an up-to-date list of Abuja zip codes In 2023, Including Lugbe, Amac, Lokogoma, Jabi, Maitama, Kubwa, and Apo postal codes.

Abuja, which is the capital of Nigeria, has many different areas, and each of them has its special postal code. Also, 6 main areas councils in Abuja have their postal codes.

In this post, I will share with you a complete list of the postal codes In Abuja which includes all the areas, and their zip codes.

SEE ALSO: Benue State Postal Codes

Let’s learn.

Run-Through Of Abuja City

Abuja is the capital city of Nigeria, and it’s one of the biggest cities in the country. It was built in the 1980s, and before that, Lagos was the capital, but they moved it to Abuja in 1991.

Abuja is known for its geography, especially Aso Rock. Important government buildings like the Presidential Complex and the National Assembly are located near this rock.

In 2006, about 776,298 people were living there, and by 2016, it grew more, with around 6 million people in the whole area.

Abuja has important places for different religions, like the Nigerian National Mosque and the Nigerian National Christian Centre.

It also has one of the biggest airports in the country, Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport. This city is one of the richest cities in Africa.

In 2016, Abuja became a part of the UNESCO Global Network of Learning Cities, and it’s known for having natural resources like minerals that are useful for making things like medicine and food

A long time ago, the place we now call Abuja used to be called Suleja. Abuja is home to different groups of people, like the Gbagyi (Gwari) and others such as the Bassa, Gwandara, Gade, Dibo, Egburra, Nupe, and Koro.

Nigeria wanted to have a capital city that everyone could agree on, so they chose a central location that wouldn’t favor any particular group.

This decision was made in the early 1970s because Lagos, the old capital, was getting too crowded. The government officially moved the capital to Abuja in 1991.

Some people didn’t like the idea of moving the capital, like Obafemi Awolowo. He even said he’d turn Abuja into an amusement park if he became president.

But eventually, the move happened, and the city started taking shape. A group of American companies, including Planning Research Corporation and Wallace, McHarg, Roberts, and Todd, helped create the plan for Abuja, and they completed their work in 1979.

Nowadays, many countries have their embassies in Abuja. Abuja has grown a lot, and it’s still growing. Some areas around it have been getting bigger by 20% to 30% each year.

Complete List Of Abuja City Postal Codes By Address

900001Federal SecretariatAbuja



● What Are The 6 Area Councils in Abuja?

  1. Abaji
  2. Bwari
  3. Gwagwalada
  4. Kuje
  5. Kwali
  6. Abuja Municipal

● What Is The Difference Between FCT And Abuja?

FCT and Abuja are related, but they are not the same thing. Abuja is the name of the capital city of Nigeria, similar to how Washington, D.C. is the capital of the United States.

The FCT includes Abuja and the surrounding areas, like small towns and villages.

● How Does This Affect Postal Codes In Abuja?

When we talk about postal codes in Abuja, we often use the FCT’s structure. So, you may hear about postal codes for Abuja and its surrounding towns and villages, all of which are part of the FCT.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *